Wonder the Wanderer

“I’d never seen anything like it before,”
recalls the explorer with moon-sparkled eyes.
With that, she unpockets the key to the door
to all the do-darings that we could devise
and playings that no other kids can reprise.
When Wonder the Wanderer whispered her tale,
our stepfoots would skip to her song on the trail.


This poem is in the form of a rime royal.
Inspired in part by this week’s fiction prompt (“I’d never seen anything like it before,”) and by the Fun with Words class assignment for this week.

8 thoughts on “Wonder the Wanderer

  1. This had a Shel Silverstein quality to it that I really, really liked. Maybe it was the “Wonder the Wanderer” piece that did it, but it felt very imaginative.

  2. yes! Everything about this poem, yes! I agree with Michelle about Silverstein. I love that you give us a sketch of the adventurer but leave the reader to fill in our own details about her. Your kennings are working really well and the wordplay is adding to the wondrous/wonderful feeling. Very nicely done, Katie!

  3. A lovely, fun poem! I really enjoyed the metaphor of the sparkle in the explorer’s eyes. I hadn’t ever seen it put that way before! I’m afraid I struggled with understanding the last line. I had to go in search of what a “stepfoot” was and still am not entirely clear if it was just wordplay on “foot steps”? I’m guessing so because of your reversal of “daring-do” as well. I chalk my confusion up to my very poor poetry reading skills, though. haha I love your piece. It’s whimsical, imaginative, and fun in just such a way that it leaves me wondering more about the explorer and what it was she’d “never seen anything like before!” Nice job. 🙂

    1. Thanks for your feedback, Anna! Haha, sorry the ‘stepfoot’ trip-footed you a bit. Yes, it was intended as wordplay to enhance the whimsical feel. Hope to see you around the grids more!

Leave a comment